5 Thing I Would Put On My Christmas Wish List

I don’t really celebrate Christmas.  For me, the holiday lost all of its magic.  I’m not sure if it is the over commercialization of the holiday, the countless stories of people trampling other people in stores just so they can get the latest television that is not anywhere near on sale, or if its relatives asking me if I would mine if they exchanged the gift I gave them immediately after opening it.  Whatever the reason, the whole thing just does not have the hold on me that it did when I was younger.

But, if I were to make a Christmas wish list, there would be five things on it that I would really love (though I know there is no chance of me even getting them).

Courtesy: IMDB

Courtesy: IMDB

Let me clarify, these are things that would be quite possible to get me for Christmas.  Yes, I would love a date from Sports Illustrated swimsuit model Daniella Sarahyba.  What red blooded American heterosexual guy wouldn’t.  But, since the possibilities of that actually happening are slimmer than my chances of finding out I was rocketed to this Earth from a dying Krypton or being deemed worthy to join the Green Lantern Corps (between those two, I want the power ring), I am not going to put that on the list.

Thus, this list will be limited to things that someone could actually get me if they really wanted to get me something other than boring clothes that I need.  After all, a Christmas present should not be about getting something you need, it’s should be about getting something you want.

So, I present the five things I would put on my Christmas List.

1) Castles of Mad King Ludwig

This game is inspired by King Ludwig II of Bavaria and the fantastic castles that he had constructed, including Neuschwanstein, which looks like something right out of a fairy tale (and has become so thanks to Disney).  Players place tiles building a wondrous palace for the mad King.

Granted, I have not played this game yet, and I might find out that I really do not like it as a game.  But, the castles that Ludwig had built in his madness are some of the most beautiful in the world.  If the game manages to capture only a fraction of this, it should be am awesome looking game.

2 & 3) A Blu-Ray Player and High Definition Television

Prices have dropped significantly for both, making a combination gift of a high Definition television and Blu-Ray player.  I don’t need a big screen, and a number of the smaller ones will double as televisions and computer screens.  And with more and more releases on Blu-Ray rather than regular DVD, it is starting to look like its time for me to take that plunge.

4) Liberty Meadows Trade Paperbacks

Liberty Meadows is a comic strip that was created by Frank Cho set in an animal sanctuary populated by a number of highly dysfunctional animals and the humans trying to help them.  The series is funny, and (thankfully) has been collected in a number of trades over the years.

Oh, and Brandy is quite hot as well.

5) Dice Town and Dice Town Expansion

This game set in the wild west has players rolling dice and trying to make the best poker hands possible.  Players then try to acquire gold nuggets, property, or victory points based on what they managed to roll.  I first played this game at an International TableTop Day with the expansion (thus its inclusion) and learned that I really liked being the sheriff in the name (the sheriff gets to decide ties, which can be quite beneficial if he is corrupt… like I was).

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on November 30, 2014, in Lists, Personal, The Fives and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

