Gaming Weekend

This week I returned to X-Wing for a match.  It was the only game that I played this weekend.

The match pitted a modified version of my Millennium squad (Chewbacca in the Falcon and three A-Wings) against an Imperial squad made of two academy TIE Fighters, a TIE Phantom, and Darth Vader in a TIE Advanced.  The battle literally went came down to two ships and one very lucky roll of the dice.  In the end, my last A-Wing managed to survive the day.

I like this squad, which took advantage of the upgrade cards that came with the Rebel Aces set.  By equipping all three A-Wings with the refit card (which takes away the missile slot, but has a cost of -2), I was able to free up points to play around with stuff.  Two of the A-Wings were able to gain a Veteran Instincts and a Determination upgrade (thanks to the other upgrade card in the Rebel Aces set), and I was able to add Han Solo to the Falcon.  It turns out that the Han Solo crew cards is pretty much useless.  After the match, I ended up taking him out and adding in a tactician.

Unfortunately, this was the only have that I played this week.  Gaming days like this get me a little down, mostly because I realize how insecure I can be.  I have a problem approaching people in most places.  I often feel like I’m intruding when I do, so I quite often will not make the move to join in.  This is not quite as bad with games, but most often, I will rarely venture out of my little group to explore other games and meet new people.

You could say that I’m shy, or introverted.  Usually, I just consider myself a big loser for not being able to take that first step and join in, which makes me wonder why I want to play these games so much.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Games, Media, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

