Gaming Weekend – October 5, 2014

I took another week off from X-Wing, but will probably get back into it next weekend.

In the meantime, I managed to try Dead of Winter, a board game that has been getting a lot of buzz.  Dead of Winter is a semi-cooperative game where players take the roles of survivors of an zombie apocalypse as winter closes in.  It is defined as a semi-cooperative game because in addition to the group goal that must be achieved, each player has their own secret agenda.  And, it is possible that one of the players could betray the group… like what happened in our group.  I am happy to say that this game lived up to the buzz and was really good.  I definitely will want to get this one to the table once more.

Next up was the Lord of the Rings deck building game.  I say it this way because there are four sets currently out for this game (one for each of the three Lord of the Rings movies and one for The Hobbit) as we played with all four sets combined.  I have played the DC Comics deck building game this way and cringe because it takes a very long time to play.  This version of the game was just as bad if not worse.  We ended up calling the game having only defeated a small handful of the main enemies because it was just was not ending.  It is one of the reasons why I have not combined my two DC Comics deck builder games into one.

Which leads me to a bit of a concern about another deck builder I picked up recently.  NHL Power Play is made by Cryptozoic, the same company that makes the DC Comics deck building game, and the Lord of the Rings Deck Building Game.  Cryptozoic has announced that they plan to release at least two expansions to this game, one to coincide with the NHL All-Star Game, and one to coincide with the playoffs.  At first, I was thrilled to hear this… until I played the LotR game Sunday.  If Cryptozoic releases the expansions like the recent Crisis expansion for DC (small set with a few new cards, new characters/captains and not a stand alone game), I think they will do well with it.  But if the next two expansions are able to be played on their own, but still combined with the original set, this game will get just as bloated as the LotR game is when you combine them all together.

If I were guiding the direction of this game, I would keep the Power Play expansions small so that they can be combined with the base set without the risk of the game getting bloated.  I would still release a major set in September/October (the start of the NHL season) which players of the game can combine with the first set (which I won’t), or keep separate as a new season.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

