Gaming Weekend Part 2

Gaming weekend continued into Labor Day with an early start.  Well, for me noon is early.

I started off joining in on a game of Pathfinder Adventure Card Game.  This game uses the Pathfinder role-playing game and converts it into a card based system that allows players to level up their chosen characters.  There are a number of expansions for the first game, Rise of the Runelords, and a second big box set, Skull & Shackles, was just released.

I played a wizard on this particular run through and, unfortunately, our party lost this scenario.

Next up I tried the new Legendary Encounters deck building game.  This game uses the same mechanism as Marvel Legendary with some tweaks to make it work for the Alien universe.  Two of us started simple, using the suggested set up for starting players.  This particular set up runs you through the first movie.  The game itself is quite brutal, and I was killed sometime just after we started on the third goal of the mission.  Luckily, the other player was able to hang on long enough to meet the last goal of the game and win.

After this, we moved onto Last Night On Earth, a humans versus zombies game.  I lost both times we played, the first playing as one of the humans, the second playing as one of the zombie controllers.

Finally, we wrapped up with Lords of Waterdeep.  This is a worker placement game based on the Dungeons and Dragons Forgotten Realms games.  I have to admit that I have seen this game played on TableTop, and was not all that thrilled by how it played.  But sometimes watching and playing are two different things.  And while I am not completely convinced I need this game in my collection, I do have to admit that some of the apprehension I had about this game watching it on Youtube has diminished some.  Winning the game did not hurt either.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on September 2, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

