Pleasant Surprises

Usually, when it comes to the games I buy, I at least open them up to check and make sure everything is in the box that is supposed to be in the box.  It’s a habit that I picked up from experience.  In the past, I have had three games which I purchased that were missing components.  Fortunately, two of the three were made by companies with great customer support (the third I never bothered to address since I, stupidly, checked it out a while after I had purchased it).

So, you would think that I would have done that with the two Wings of Glory duel packs that I bought Friday.  But no, I waited, mostly because my Friendly Local Game Shop did not have the WW1 rules and accessory pack needed to play the game (I have it on order… it should show up this week).  So, I finally decided to check out the two sets, mostly to see if there was some way I could break them down to something smaller than the boxes that they are in.

2014-08-05 00.06.06So, imagine my surprise when I found out that the boxes had more than just the planes in them.

Now, I had expected the planes, the plates, the pegs, and the maneuver decks for each plane.  Those come with each plane.  I had not expected a damage deck.  Granted, it was just one damage deck, as opposed to the four that come with the rules and accessories set.  But then, the two planes in the set both use the same damage deck.

I also had not expected the tokens, the rulers, the consoles, or (and this is the important part of the set), the rules.  Yes, these duel packs come with rules for the game.  Not all the rules, mind you, but enough to get you started.  If you want to get to the advanced rules, you do have to buy the accessory pack, which makes sense.  But, the rules included are enough to get two players going with the two planes in the set, along with everything else.  It’s a nice touch and a pleasant surprise since I did not expect that much in these packs.

2014-08-05 00.06.17Needless to say, I already went ahead and created boxes for the damage decks and the plane sets.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on August 5, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

