Gaming Weekend

This week was more about game acquisition than actual gaming.  My usual X-Wing matches were deferred because one of the regulars wanted to see if he could find a build that could beat the Borg in Star Trek Attack Wing.  I never really got into this game, though I did buy the starter set.  The lack of a consistent scale bugged me.

The game itself plays a lot like X-Wing, but I’m not sure if I’m eager to get into yet another miniature ship game (more on why in a bit).

After the two matches (first match was all Borg, the second the Klingons got a hard fought victory), we switched over to the Lord of the Rings deck building game.  To be specific, this was the Two Towers edition.  This is a lot like the DC Comics Deck Builder Game themed for LOTR and with other subtle differences.  We played a five player game, and though I had some strategy, I still came in second to last.

After that we switched over to Sentinels of the Multiverse, since many of us wanted to try the Vengeance expansion.  The big difference is that the Vengeance expansion pits the heroes against five villains instead of just one villain.  We managed to take out two of the villains, but just could not hold on against the remaining three.  The heroes went down to defeat.

2014-06-22 15.53.15These game really only topped off the day.  The main show was the purchases.  The latest play alone expansion of Ascension came out this week and naturally, I had to pick it up.  Ascension: Realms Unraveled adds a number of new transforming heroes (heroes that can be upgraded under the right circumstances), along with multiple faction cards which gain powers from two different types.

I also picked up Sails of Glory, a miniature game where players captain the sailing vessels of the 18th and 19th century.  I had seen the individual ships the previous week, and was curious about the game.  This week, they had in the basic set, which gives you everything you need to start playing.  Given the time period, I thought maybe my father might be interested in picking up the game as well which would give us something to do together.  Even if he decides not to try it out, I know of a few people at the game shop who either have the game or would not mind trying it out, so I will most likely get a chance to play.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on June 23, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

