Comic Drops

Over the last few weeks, I have been going over the titles that I read, wondering which I should stick with, and which I should drop.  Since then, I have begun to pare down my titles, though I have had some help with some of the titles I do read getting cancelled.

Let’s start with the DC titles.  I have been reading a lot of them since the new 52.  And, usually, if I dropped a title, it was because the title got cancelled.  This will be the case when I finish my runs of All-Star Western, Batwing, Birds of Prey, Superboy, Phantom Stranger and Pandora when the get cancelled in the next few months.  But, there will be a few more titles getting dropped soon.

First is Green Arrow.  I have been collecting this title since its relaunch with the rest of the New 52.  Sadly, I have never really been into the series.  I kept hoping that it would get better for me, but it just never clicked.  The latest issue, concluding the Outsiders story line is my last issue.

I would be fooling myself if I did not say that there were two things that kept me coming back to Red Hood and the Outlaws.  Sadly, those two things are not a good story and interesting characters.  I’ve come to the conclusion that it is time to move past Starfire’s endowments and drop the book.

There are also a lot of newer titles that I’m just not going to continue.  Harley Quinn, Justice League 3000, and The Movement fall into this field.

Sadly, Vertigo’s Fables, and its spin-offs, are also on this list.  Fables, though, may be picked up in trade format.

Over at Marvel, it has been a slaughter of titles for me.  Many of the drops here have been over the last few months.  Once I was really into the Avengers titles.  Now, they are all dropped from my pull list.  So too most of the X-titles.  At this point, it is easier to list the Marvel titles that I am collection than the ones I have dropped.  Those books are Silver Surfer, X-Factor, All-New X-Men (teetering because of too many crossovers) and She-Hulk (which is teetering because I am just not getting into the artwork).

In a future post, I’ll go over some of the independent drops.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on May 23, 2014, in Comics, Media, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

