Tuck Boxes

As I mentioned before, I’ve been creating tuck boxes for some of the games that I have.  The tuck boxes make it easier to keep the cards together, especially when the game has a large box.  While some tuck boxes I printed from versions created by other people and posted on Boardgamegeek.com (like the boxes used for the Robinson Crusoe game).  Other boxes I created myself.

The two easiest ways of designing a tuck box are to use one of two programs.  The first is the website Tuck Box Generator.  The drawback of this web based app is that the graphics are limited to jpeg format, which means you will have to convert any graphic you want to use prior to importing it.  But, the website will generate any size box which can be directly printed from the site, or saved as a PDF file.  If you do use this program, be careful to make sure you do not have size to fit selected when you print, or your boxes will be too small.

The other way of creating tuck boxes is to use TuckBoxMaker, a downloadable program.  The big limitation of this program is that it will not create a box smaller than 20mm depth.

2014-04-21 01.08.57Once you create your box, you will need to print it.  I find that printable card stock works very well for these boxes.  Just remember to make sure your printer settings are appropriate for the box you are printing (portrait/landscape, resizing turned off, etc).  For the purpose of this demonstration, I’m creating a play deck for the Call of Cthulhu loving card game.

2014-04-21 01.09.11Once the box pattern is printed, you will need to cut it out of the page.  I use a metal ruler and a small utility knife and a cutting board.  You can also use scissors, and I sometimes will around corners.

2014-04-21 01.09.38Once I finish cutting out the box, I will score the folds.  I find it easier to fold the box into shape if I go over where the box is going to fold before trying to fold the box.  I simply use a ruler and a ball point pen and just go over the edges.  I have to admit that I would prefer to use a dry ball point pen since that will not leave any ink marks on the boxes.

2014-04-21 01.10.39Once scored, I will make all the folds that I need to make, bringing the box into shape.  Once it is folded into place, I will glue the flaps together.  I do not use any elaborate glue process for this, just a simple glue stick.  I apply the glue to all the bottom and side white flaps and put the box together.  Once everything is in shape, I will use a ruler, tapping down the bottom to make sure everything is glued, and sliding the ruler along the side as well.

2014-04-21 01.12.05At that point, I simply let the glue to dry, then put the cards into the box and close it up.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on April 21, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

