International TableTop Day – The Official Freebie Pull

As I mentioned in my Sunday blog, Saturday was International TableTop Day, and in the fourteen hours of gaming on Saturday, I pulled some pretty cool free stuff.

Ascension Promo Cards

Ascension Promo Cards

Ascension Promo Cards

With each game of Ascension played, every player got two promo cards that can be added to any set.  Since I played two games (won neither), I was able to get a total of four promo cards.  I probably could have gotten more if I played more games of Ascension, but I, well, wanted to play more games in general.

The four cards I got are two constructs and two heroes.  From what I can see about what they can do, each one would be pretty desirable to players of Ascension.

New Rule For Fluxx

New Rule For Fluxx

Fluxx New Rule

A promotional card for any version of Looney Labs Fluxx card games was also one of the offerings.  This rule states that anyone wearing tie-dyed clothing of any kind can draw and play an extra card each turn.

I’m not entirely sure that I would actually play this in any Fluxx game, but it’s cool to have anyway.

Roll For It! Express

Roll For It! Express

Roll For It! Express

This is a mini version of the game Roll For It!  The pack includes six conventional dice, a game board (on the flip side of the card in the picture) and the rules (on the other side of the card in the bag).  The rules seem pretty straight forward (roll the dice and try to score in the quadrants given.  Reroll unused dice up to two more times to try and score all for quadrants for 30 points).

Because of its small size, this might be a game that I will bring into work to try out.  I’m not sure if I would get the full sized game, but I would be perfectly willing to check it out based on how this goes over.

Labyrinth Trial Size

Labyrinth Trial Size

Labyrinth Free Trial Size

Another mini version of a larger game.  This game appears to be a tile laying game similar to Carcassonne.  Players place the pieces down to build the labyrinth, collecting treasures along the way.

Again, the small size makes it travel worthy.  I will probably check this out as well and see if I might want to get the full sized version like I’ll do with Roll For It! Express.

Unspeakable Letter

Unspeakable Letter

Unspeakable Letter

This is an extra card for the game Unspeakable Words.  The card itself basically acts like the blank tile in Scrabble, except that the point value is determined by the number of Cthulhu pawns the player still has in play.

To be honest, this seemed like a cool piece of schwag until I looked at the game once more.  There already is an Unspeakable Letter card in Unspeakable Words.  All this card does is add in a second copy of that card.

Gloom TableTop Exclusive Promotion

Gloom TableTop Exclusive Promotion

Gloom TableTop Exclusive Promotion

This is the one item that I really wanted to snag from the free stuff.  This set adds nine cards to the Gloom mix, with Wil Wheaton and Felicia Day cards played like Unwelcome Guests.  Don’t worry if you do not have the Unwelcome Guests expansion for Gloom, the rules for playing unwelcome guests are included in the set.

I like Gloom a lot, and I am looking forward to trying out this set with its TableTop themes cards.

Geek Out! Sampler

Geek Out! Sampler

Geek Out! Sampler

I was a bit surprised to see this on the freebie table, but glad I did.  I really don’t know if these are bonus cards for the game, or just a sample of the cards that are already in the game.  Frankly, I don’t care.  Geek Out! has become a favorite among our little lunchtime gaming group, and just to have nine more cards will be pretty cool.

Smash Up Faction Mail In Offer

Smash Up Faction Mail In Offer

Smash Up Faction Mail In Offer

The least impressive item is probably the biggest item for the free stuff.  Once filled out and sent in, the certificate can be redeemed for a special faction for Smash Up: Geeks.

Admittedly, I am not the biggest fan of Smash Up.  I’m not sure if it is because the first time I played it we had a difficult time keeping track of the scoring on the bases, or if it has to do with not getting any bases in my Obligatory Cthulhu Expansion set (but I can to sets of madness cards… for whatever they are used for), but I still want to get this faction.  Besides, it’s free.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on April 8, 2014, in Games, Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

