Games to Kill Time When You’re Home Sick

Tuesday was going to be a fun day.  After getting called into work Sunday, I got Tuesday off as a trade.  I checked the boards, and checked Meetup, and had some options for how I could spend my day.

Then Monday I got sick.  And Tuesday went from being a day of fun to being a day of being stuck in bed recovering so I would be well enough to work Wednesday.

Some fun.

It left me reliant on my iPod (and whatever I downloaded) for entertainment.

2014-02-11 23.23.48Throughout the day, I checked in on Simpsons: Tapped Out.  This free app only costs money if you buy the extra donuts needed for the special features.  Why Barney is one of those special features, I really don’t know.  I have to admit, the game is starting to wear on me, especially when one off characters like Mindy and Kumiko pop up but you still have to spend 150 donuts to buy the bowling alley that Barney comes with.

Still, the game does not requires that much maintenance (unless you plant crops), and they do manage to keep it fairly fresh with seasonal themes.  They are currently on their Valentine’s theme.

2014-02-11 23.22.39I also played a few games of Nightfall today as well.  Nightfall is based on the deck building game from AEG where players pit vampires and werewolves against each other for dominance.  The app plays like the game it is based on, which I like because it allowed me to learn the rules of the game and how the cards play so that I I actually play the real game the learning curve won’t be as steep.

I like playing the app because it is still a challenge for me.  Matches can go either way depending on what and how you play your cards.  Nightfall also ties into Game Center, so there are also side achievements you can make while you play the game.

The app is $2.99 in the iTunes store, with the Martial Law expansion available for $1.99.

2014-02-11 23.29.01Qwirkle was also in the game list today.  This app, based on the tile placement game (featured on TableTop), is a relatively new addition to the iTunes store.  The app plays just like the actual game, and offers game play against the computer or actual people over the internet.  Different skill levels are also available, though I still play on easy (I’m new to the app).

The app is fun, and challenging.  Qwirkle the app also ties into Game Center with added achievements to be made while trying to improve your own game.

The app is $2.99 in the iTunes app store.

2014-02-11 23.22.53I also played two games of Ascension.  Officially, I played Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer and Ascension: Return of the Fallen.  Like Nightfall, Ascension is based on a deck building game where players try to acquire new cards from a central area while defeating monsters from the same area.  There are multiple versions available once the initial game is purchased (hence the two different versions played today).  The app can be played against the computer (up to four spots, depending on the version), against players over the internet, and against other people by passing the iPod back and forth (“loading screens” keep players from seeing the others cards).  Like Nightfall and Qwirkle, it also ties into Game Center with additional achievements available.

I have to admit I do not play this app as much as I do others.  I like it, but I tend to win nearly every game I play.  But I still play every now and then because the games move fairly fast and provide a decent time killer.

Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer is $4.99 in the app store, with the expansions running between $2.99 and $3.99 for the expansions, and $.99 for promo packs.

2014-02-11 23.23.09Bang! is another new app for me, downloaded because it is currently being offered for free in the iTunes app store.  The app is based on the Western themes card game which I have to admit that I had been curious about.  In this game, players assume the roles of either the sheriff, deputy, renegade or outlaws.  However, only the player who is playing the Sheriff is known.  The identities of the others are not known, and the game pits the outlaws against the sheriff and deputy, the sheriff and deputy against the outlaws, and the renegade against everyone.

The game itself is interesting.  I am not entirely sure if I will play the app a lot, but I am curious to see how the game mechanic works with the actual card game.  But, from what I can tell, the game is best played with at least 4 (the app defaults to 5).

2014-02-11 23.23.29I also played one game of Elder Sign Omens, the app version of the Fantasy Flight Cthulhu based dice game.  This is an app that keeps me coming back, even though I have the actual game, which can be played solo.  I think the reason why I keep coming back is that the game can be quite harrowing.  Out of all the evil ancients available in the app (including in app purchases), only one is listed as easy.  Today, I did not play against that easy villain.  And I lost.  three of my investigators were incapacitated (two by insanity, one by death), and I failed to stop the elder being from rising.

Still, I will play this again, mostly because I want to defeat all the elder beings at least once.  Given the difficulty of defeating one as “normal” level, that will be some time.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on February 12, 2014, in Games, Media, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

