A Dilemma For A Casual Gamer

Deutsch: Spielstein

Deutsch: Spielstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I would consider myself a casual gamer.  This is mostly because I just have never really had a big opportunity to participate in games.  Growing up, I lived in a neighborhood that did not have a lot of kids.  This meant that any games that I wanted to play, Monopoly, Checkers, even card games like Go Fish were usually with my parents (mostly my mom) or a special occasion.

This situation did not get much better as I grew up.

And, sadly, still persists to this day.  Now, my biggest issue is that most of the people I know are from work.  Nearly all of them do not share my enthusiasm to spend a couple of hours playing a board game, and certainly not the ones that I would want to play.

I have begun to look for other casual gamers through Meetup.com, but once again, work becomes an issue.  I work nights and have an odd work week, which means while many groups are meeting on Friday nights and Saturdays to have a little fun, I’m at work.  And when I’m off, they are at work.

It doesn’t help that thanks to TableTop on Youtube, I’ve seen how a lot of these games play and want to play them that much more.

Somehow I will have to work this out… after November, that’s National Novel Writing Month time.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on October 29, 2013, in Media, Observation, Opinion, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

