5 Great Driving Songs

Drive

Drive (Photo credit: kaysha)

This time around, I decided to take a look at some of the great driving songs.  These are the songs that are great to listen to while you’re in the car.

It is also one of the few times that I built my list by paring it down from a larger one.  That list was assembled from my own ideas, suggestions from coworkers, and input from Thumb.it.

Which meant I needed to apply some criteria to pare down the list.  The first, and most important, is that I had to have it in my music selection.  This eliminated a few good songs like Panama by Van Halen, which I do not have on my iPod… yet.

The next criteria I applied was the mood while driving.  For this list, I want with music that pumps you up while driving.  This eliminated a few more sine they did not fit the mood.  Songs like Iron City by Grant Green, while great driving songs, were taken out because they just did not have the emotional response I was looking for.

And thus, I present, my list of 5 great driving songs.  When I could, I included links to the songs on Youtube.com for easier listening reference.

  1. Born To Be Wild by Steppenwolf – I am almost ashamed to even admit that this was not one of the first songs that I put on the master list, considering it was the theme to Easy Rider, one of the great road movies.  But, let’s face it, it is damn near impossible to not get pumped when this song is played.
  2. Peter Gunn Theme by Henry Mancini – This song has gained a vast life beyond the detective show it was written for.  The song solidified its connection with driving for children of the 1980s when it was used as the music for the video game Spyhunter.  But it doesn’t really matter if you are listening to the original version, the jazzed up version on the Blues Brothers soundtrack, or the pop version by Art of Noise, all of them get me going while I’m behind the wheel.
  3. I Can’t Drive 55 by Sammy Hagar – An anthem against the nationally set speed limit (before it was allowed to be raised to 65 in some areas), it is tough not to get a lead foot while Sammy complains about heavy traffic and driving too slow.
  4. Molossus by Hans Zimmer – A new song for the list, but one that I love listening to while I’m in the car.  I’m pretty sure that it is because it is the music used in Batman Begins when Batman first takes the Batmobile to the streets.  When I hear it, I imagine myself behind the wheel of the Tumbler.
  5. Radar Love by Golden Earring – Let me make this clear.  There is only one version of this some that gets me pumped while I’m driving.  It’s the Golden Earring version, NOT the White Lion version.
About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Lists, Media, Music, Personal, The Fives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

