Weird Stuff and Non Prophesies

Regular readers of my blog probably have already figured out that I believe in some strange stuff, or, at least, I am very open-minded to the possibility that there are some strange things out there that we do not know about.  I believe there is the possibility of an as yet unknown creature living in the remote regions of the Himalayas.  I believe that it is possible for something of a person to be left behind after they die, be it their actual spirit or a “recording” thereof.  I also believe in the possibility of life on other planets, though I am not convinced that they are coming here.

English: I took this image and allow its free ...

English: I took this image and allow its free use. You can see the book physically by visiting here: http://www.library.uthscsa.edu/basics/speccoll.cfm (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am less inclined to believe in prophecies.  At least, I do not believe that prophesies are the one sole vision of the future.  It was something I started to think about Monday as I braced myself to the idea that I still had a blizzard’s worth of snow to get out of my driveway.  That’s when I heard the story about the Pope stepping down.  This got me thinking about one of the prophecies that I heard about the Popes.  In particular, this prophesy stated that the next Pope would be the last Pope, as predicted by Saint Malachy.  Which, naturally, got me thinking about prophesies in general, and how inaccurate they have been in the past, and will be in the future.

The biggest problem I have with most prophesies is the vague nature of how they are written.  Take for an example most of the writings of Nostradamus.  He is considered to be one of the greats in prophesies.  However, many of his quatrains are written so vaguely that they could be interpreted in any way that the readers wants to interpret them.  Believers have worked to defend his “abilities” by claiming he wrote in anagrams and changed letters (the Hister/Hitler “wordplay” is the best example).  Even reading through his supposed hits, there are points that do not match the actual history.  More than likely Nostradamus is interpreted as a great visionary after the fact.

One of the other problems with a lot of prophecies is that are so many of them.  Between the psychics and the prophets and the, well, anyone who has predicted anything, there are so many prophesies out there.  All of them are different, and many of them happen at the same time.  Obviously they cannot all be right.  Which comes to the next problem: figuring out which is the correct prophecy.  Do we assume that the negative prophecies are the correct ones?  Personally, I hate to think that all that the future holds for us are nightmares, destruction, and death.  conversely, we cannot look blindly into the future believing that everything will be okay because someone saw a bright shiny future of peace, love, and good investments for everyone.

Does this mean that I don’t believe that someone could see the future?  Well, yes and no.  My personal belief is that there is indeed the possibility of seeing a future, but not exactly the future.  It is possible for these people to see into the future, but that future is not necessarily the one that is meant for us.  Just like how some television producers would dispense “false spoilers” to put die-hard fans from knowing that they had planned for their series, I think that it is possible that the multiple visions of what is to come act as false spoilers for our future.  In getting multiple visions, all telling something different, we are left to wander what is to come, as it should be.  At the very least, these visions act like the ones shown to Ebenezer Scrooge by the Ghost of Christmas Yet To Come, a future that can be altered, sometimes with just the very knowledge of a darker time.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on February 12, 2013, in Opinion, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree. I don’t think I like the idea that the future CAN be prophesised. I don’t like the idea that it’s already been written for us. I believe that the universe is so unimaginably complex that it’s not possible for anybody to really predict what is going to happen.

Leave a Reply

