5 Things I Figured Out During This Year’s NaNoWriMo

The setup for NaNoWriMo at home, if I need to ...

The setup for NaNoWriMo at home, if I need to be portable. Long exposure lit by sweeping an LED flashlight over the scene. clickthing.blogspot.com/2008/10/tennish-anyone.html (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

With only one more day until the official National Novel Writing Month validator becomes active, I am left to reflect on what I’ve learned over the course of this NaNoWriMo.

1) I can’t write romances.

I think I can attribute this to the lack of romance in my own life, I’m not sure.  I guess it falls under the concept of “Write what you know.”

2) I can’t work off an outline

This really is not a new revelation for me, just something that was reestablished.  There was only one year in which I worked of anything that resembled an outline, and that was two years ago when I wrote my NaNoWriMo off a comic script idea I had.  That one was a royal pain in the neck.  This year, I once more went with the more fluid no outline mode.  And, while there were a few spots I got stuck with briefly, the whole story flowed better.  It was more organic.

3) I can’t write an ending for beans, either

This year, my ending is probably the worst I have had since I started NaNoWriMo, and that includes my first one that had two epilogues in it (it was running a little short).  Worse still, this year I painted myself into a corner that I can’t see a way out of, tying into my lack of ability to write romances.

4) I won’t edit this one either

I hate editing.  I really hate it.  I can’t stand editing.  I think it’s because I have worked so long on the first draft of the story that the last thing I want to do is look at it again.  Even when I try to edit, it usually ends faster than the Glass Joe bout in Punchout.

5)  I can work with very little apparently.

This year, my whole concept consisted of two characters: Kestrel my hero, and Ariel, my shield dancer heroine, and a couple of random scenes involving the two of them.  And, I have to be honest, I did not even decide that Ariel’s name would be Ariel until sometime in September or October.  And yet, I managed to write 61,761 words on their adventure, and that does not even include the ending that I don’t have (though I’m dreading what the ending will be <shudder>).

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on November 24, 2012, in Creative, Lists, NaNoWriMo, Personal, The Fives, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

