The Big E, or Why It’s Probably The Last Year I’ll Go

Big E fair in Springfield, MA on September 23,...

Big E fair in Springfield, MA on September 23, 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I mentioned, it’s fair time again.  For those of us in New England, the fair to go to would be The Big E, which brings together exhibitors from all over New England.  It is a fun time, checking out all the exhibits, the state houses, and the food.

It will probably be my last year going.

It was not anything wrong with the Big E itself.  It was pretty much the same as last year, except that I did eat a bit more junk food than before.  The problem was more with me than with the fair.  The fair is a fun time for everyone, friends, family, loved ones.  for me, my family consists of my parents and myself.  Once you get to a certain age, going to fairs with your parents just gets pathetic.

Which leaves friends and loved ones.  In this case, by “loved ones” I mean girlfriend, fiance or wife.  Anyone who has read my blog in the past knows that I don’t date anymore because of my past history of success in that field… or lack thereof.

Which leaves friends, except that I really don’t have any friends, at least none that are local.

Granted, I could always go by myself, which I have considered.  But, even this last time, I was there people watching, watching them with their friends, with their girlfriends, their wives, and their children.  It made me feel that much more an outsider, and that much more alone.

So, While it was fun going up to the Big E this year, it will most likely be the last year I will ever go.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on September 19, 2012, in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

