Saturday Songs – September 15, 2012

This week, we move away from the rock into something a bit different.

I first heard Loreena McKennitt when The Mummers’ Dance was popular for a time.  To be honest, being I was in one of those “I’ll listen to anything different” moods, I probably would have stumbled across her CDs even if I had not heard that song.  But, it was because of that song that I decided to take a chance with The Book of Secrets, the particular CD that had The Mummers’ Dance on it.

The album was great, just the type of CD that I was looking for at that particular time.  But, there was one song that stood out for me, one very long song.

The Highwayman is based on a poem by Alfred Noyes, which McKennitt adapted to song.  The song stood out enough foe me to try to find the original poem, something that is unusual for me since I am not all that big on poetry.  But, the song, and the tragic story that it tells was just that good.

The Highwayman, along with other songs and CDs by Loreena McKennitt, are available on iTunes, Amazon.com, and your local record store.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on September 15, 2012, in Media, Music, Saturday Songs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. One of my all time favorite songs, “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot, is also based on a true story.

Leave a Reply

