It’s Never Too Early For NaNo Dares

 

The setup for NaNoWriMo at home, if I need to ...The National Novel Writing Month is now less than two months away.  Across the world, thousands (if not millions) of writers are starting to think about their November projects, about plots, themes, characters.

So, it seems appropriate to start thinking of the most important part of NaNoWriMo: how to boost your word count.  Many writers will rely on dares, often posted on NaNoWriMo’s website.  Some are elaborate, some just silly.

Naturally, I have some of my own dares to put forth.  Most of these have been drawn from my past NaNoWriMo projects, which I now put forth for your consideration.

Use The Name of a Supermodel as an Exclamation

This I draw from my 2011 project, Attack of the Spring Break Zombies where the main character yells “Brooklyn Decker!” after seeing the main female character in a bikini.

Bonus Points for anyone who does this in a NaNoWriMo not set in a contemporary setting.

Have a Scene Where A Popular Toy Figures Prominently

Again, the main weapon of choice in my 2011 project were Nerf guns… lots of Nerf guns.  Really, Hasbro should pay me for how much, and how prominently Nerf guns appear in that project.

I would consider bonus points again for anachronisms (example: a child in Medieval England playing with a G.I. Joe figure).

Feature a Flashback

I covered a lot of back story in my first NaNoWriMo project with Lost style flashbacks, mostly because I had actually envisioned that particular story to be the third or fourth part of a series which I had never written.  I needed a way of advancing the story without getting lost along the way.  It seemed to work for that story.

Add an Anachronism

I mentioned this as a bonus above, now I’m just going full-out and just suggesting it.  If your story is going to be set in the 1920s, feature a character withdrawing money from an ATM.

Feature a Character Named After Someone You Know

Okay, this last one is probably something a lot of people are going to do anyway, but for those of you who had not considered it, it’s a good way of dealing with names, at least until you find the right name for your characters.

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Creative, Lists, NaNoWriMo, Personal, The Fives, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

Leave a Reply

