Book Review – Zone One

Zone OneZone One by Colson Whitehead

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

In recent years, there has been only one book that I can hated so much that I threw it into a corner, never to finish.

At least, only one until I started to read this book.

Colson Whitehead may be a great writer, but this book does not show it. Nothing happens in the 111 pages I struggled through. I failed to make any connection to the main character, or garner any sympathy for him either. It’s possible that Whitehead meant to make the character as much a zombie as the ones he is charged to clean up, but in doing so, he fails to make a character that I could connect with. With no emotional connection to the character, I have little interest in what happens to him, which is why it is so easy to toss the book aside with no desire to finish it.

To be honest, the only reason why I have this book one star is that there really isn’t an option for something worse than “I don’t like it.”

View all my reviews

About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on August 18, 2012, in Books, Media, Personal, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

