Things That Changed in November for NaNoWriMo

(Apparently when I wrote this, I made a lot of typos on the list.  I blame a NaNoWriMo addled mind.  However, I am going to leave them in.  Enjoy)

For anyone engaging in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), there are undoubtedly some changes to behavior that occur because of you’re trying to write at least 50,000 words by the end of the month. What follows are a list of some of the things that changed for me.

  1. My reading had dropped considerably. I used to have multiple books in progress at any given time. I still have those multiple books in progress. Just that for the duration of my writing time, the reading has dropped to zero.
  2. Before November, I would use my free time to catch up on the shows that I missed during the week. During November, I would use the time to write, and write, and write.
  3. Prior to November, I considered Google Maps street view a bit creepy. The street view of my street actually has me in the picture. During November, street view became a valuable resource to see what St. Augustine actually looks like… at least at the time when the street view was taken.
  4. During November, I don’t go out so that I can spend the time writing. Granted, I don’t go out normally, but during the month of November, I have an excuse.
  5. My coworkers have been “blessed” with hearing about the latest of my progress, from word count to what is happening in the book. Once November passes, that does down a bit.
  6. During November, my late nights become real late nights.
  7. Notes tend to be scribbled everywhere, even with the use of OneNote.
  8. Thanks to the October Nor’Easter that hit Connecticut, we were without power for a few days (we were lucky). But, it still meant I started NaNoWriMo longhand. I actually enjoyed working that way, and continued to do so at other times (mostly lunch hours).
  9. Blog entries went from longer pieces to shorter ones, mostly talking about word counts.
  10. The most anticipated day of the year is not Christmas, but the day that the NaNoWriMo word count validator goes online.
About chyrondave

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on November 20, 2011, in Creative, My Two Cents, NaNoWriMo, Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. NaNo definitely changes a lot of things! i thought this was a great quirky post. It’s such a unique, overwhelmingly relieving feeling when 1st of Dec comes around though. I usually feel a bit nostalgic towards November once it’s over but at the same time, such relief! It’s definitely a love-hate relationship. You’re nearly there! The end is near. :)

    – Ermisenda

  2. Love the typo on #9…Robin

  3. (Ermisenda’s coauthor, not to be confused with Ermi posting twice)

    I loved numbers 4 and 5. That’s how I feel about writing and going out on a normal basis. My coworkers don’t get the brunt of my writing talk so much as my college peers did.

    -Eliabeth

  4. Thanks for the giggle! Me too.

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 20: The Countdown has begun « Cheddar Nightmares

  2. Pingback: End of the Year To Do List | I Face the Sun

  3. Pingback: 50k in 19 days | dwwriter

  4. Pingback: The Wall « Almost Out of Ink…

  5. Pingback: A geek with a hat » On writing every day

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Winners Badge – But what next? « Dave Farmer

  7. Pingback: NaNoWriMo ’11 – After Day 27 « Nila E. White

  8. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 20: The Countdown has begun |

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 20: The Countdown has begun | Keyboard Pizza

Leave a Reply

