NaNoWriMo – The Countdown Continues

As I write this, we are less than one week away from the National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.  At 12:00 midnight on November 1st, writers across the world will commence in what will undoubtedly be a month of frantic writing.

Over the last few years, I have managed to benefit from a convenience of timing.  I am naturally a night person, thus, staying up well past midnight is not a problem for me.  In fact, the last couple of years, I have actually counted down the minutes to midnight November 1st when I could officially begin writing.

This did not sound as pathetic when I thought it originally.

This year, I actually will be working Halloween.  When you work nights, not getting home until after midnight can be a bit of a problem for NaNoWriMos who are looking to start immediately… like me.  I’m not overly concerned by it.  In past years, I have managed to reach the 50,000 word limit early (sometimes even before I reach the end of my story).  So, it isn’t a loss of productive time that has me concerned.  It is just the eagerness of getting started.  Sure, I can think of what I want to write on the drive home.  But it is the actual putting of word to processor (formerly pen to paper… get with the times) that really makes me feel like I have begun on NaNoWriMo.

The most it will mean is that I will lose maybe an hour of that initial writing time.  And, I can deal with that.  After all, two years ago, I ditched my original idea for a new one three days into November.  But, I will miss out on the countdown to November when I actually can begin to write.  It is almost like missing out on the countdown to midnight on New Year’s Eve.  Sure you may be disappointed in missing it, but the world goes on, and (in this case) the story continues.

About David Brzezinski

Avid comic reader, amateur writer, music fan, and someone with opinions, lots of opinions.

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Creative, NaNoWriMo, Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Good luck and have fun with your story!

  2. I’m a bit of a night owl too. I’m hoping that will come in handy for my first attempt at NaNo, especially as I am away at a conference for the first few days!

  1. Pingback: Finding your alpha state « Snagglewordz

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Character Intro: Nathan Crane | My Writer's Cramp

  3. Pingback: My First NaNoWriMo 2011! « A Skeptical Optimist

  4. Pingback: To NaNo or Not to NaNo – Help! « Angela Quarles

  5. Pingback: aramnitso

  6. Pingback: » My First NaNoWriMo 2011! Writes & Bites

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers

